2007 Environmental Leadership Awards


Undergraduate Student: Logan Senack

Graduate Student: Jessica Kukielka

UConn Group: Burton Family Football Complex and Mark R. Schenkman Training Center

Staff: Rebecca Gorin

Faculty: Dr. Richard Parnas

UConn Student Group: UConn Chapter of Engineering Without Borders (Nicaragua Team)

External: Willimantic Waste Paper Company, Inc.


Undergraduate Student: Timothy Bleasdale

Graduate Student: David Chiu

UConn Group: Department of Dining Services, UConn SolElectric Car Team, Wastewater Pollution Control Facility Team

Staff: Mary Kegler, Frank Labato, Suzy Staubach

Faculty: John Alexopoulos, Jeff Hathaway, Chris Simon, Dean Kirklyn Kerr (CANR), Tom Morris, Gary Robbins, Dave Schroeder, Kristin Schwab, John Silander, James Stuart


The Selection Committee for 2007 consists of several members of the EPAC representatives.  In addition, one graduate student and one undergraduate student intern also agreed to participate as student representatives.  By agreeing to serve on the committee, these environmentally dedicated individuals forfeited their right to receive any awards for which they might be nominated.  The University and the Office of Environmental Policy recognizes their importance of their participation, without which the 2007 Awards could not have been successful, and thanks them for their dedication to this process.

Name Department
Gene Roberts Director, Facilities Operations
Kathleen Segerson Professor, Economics Department
Meghan Ruta Graduate Student, NRME
Jennifer Sayers Office of Environmental Policy Intern, Undergraduate Env Sci and Anthropology
Scott Brohinsky Director of Alumni Relations
Melinda Daniels Assistant Professor, Geography Department
Rich Miller Office of Environmental Policy, Director
Michael Willig EEB Professor and Director of Center for Environmental Sciences and Engineering
Stefan Wawzyniecki Manager, Chemical Health & Safety. Environmental Health & Safety