Climate Action Task Forces

On March 25, 2008, University of Connecticut President Hogan signed the American College and University Presidents Climate Commitment (ACUPCC or PCC for short), committing the university to developing a Climate Action Plan (CAP) to achieve carbon neutrality by 2050.

An ad hoc student group was also formed to provide advice during the formation of the Climate Action Plan.

To provide oversight for the process, an eight-member Climate Action Task Force (CATF) was appointed following the PCC signing.

Prior to the creation of the CATFs, Recycling and Waste Reduction and Environmental Literacy had been Environmental Policy Advisory Councils (EPACs), which means that they were groups of staff and faculty members that advised the University on environmental initiatives. Now that the CAP is completed, the CATFs have become EPACs.

The workgroups consisted primarily of ad hoc members, including UConn staff, faculty and students, who have been invited to participate based on their interest in the topics covered by the subcommittee. The workgroups were open to anyone who wished to be involved, however, including residents of the surrounding communities.

In 2011, a new CATF was created to write a new section to the CAP. This new CATF is the Climate Change Adaptation Task Force. The new section is being created so that it can be included in the CAP when President Susan Herbst reaffirms the University's position with the PCC.